Board of Directors

The Directors bring to the Board relevant experience and skills, including industry and business knowledge, financial management and corporate governance experience.

Peter Macourt, Chairman

Peter is a former director and chief operating officer of News Limited. While at News Limited, he served as a director of Premier Media, Foxtel, Independent Newspapers Limited and a number of subsidiaries and associated companies of The News Corporation Limited.

Peter was appointed Chairman of SKY Network Television Limited in August 2002, a position he still holds.

Peter is a member of the Audit and Risk Committee and the Nomination and Remuneration Committee.

Sue Channon, Group CEO

Sue has held senior management positions in various Australian healthcare organisations for over 20 years. Before her appointment to CEO of Virtus in November 2010, Sue was CEO of IVF Australia Pty Ltd.

Prior to joining Virtus, Sue was State Manager for NSW and ACT for Medical Imaging Australia, the National Director of Nursing for Mayne Group (now part of Ramsay Health Care), CEO of Kareena Private Hospital, CEO of Castlecrag and Mosman Private Hospital and CEO and Director of Nursing for Castlecrag Private Hospital.

Peter Turner, Non-executive Director

Prior to joining Virtus, Peter served as Executive Director and Chief Operating Officer of CSL Limited and was the founding President of CSL Behring LLC. Peter is currently a non‑executive director of NPS MedicineWise.

Peter is Chairperson of the Nomination and Remuneration Committee.

Dennis O'Neill, Non-executive Director

Dennis is the former CEO and Managing Director of Evans Deakin Industries Ltd and United Group Ltd and the former Chairman of Decmil Group Ltd. In March 2009 Dennis was appointed as Chairman and Advisory Chairman of Queensland Fertility Group Pty Ltd. He is also Advisory Chairman to several unlisted companies and is the Steel Supplier Advocate for the Commonwealth Government.

Dennis is Chairperson of the Audit and Risk Committee.

Sonia Petering, Non-executive Director

Sonia is a corporate lawyer who brings extensive experience as a Director to the Virtus Board. Sonia is currently Chair of the Rural Finance Corporation of Victoria and a Non-executive Director of Victoria’s Transport Accident Commission. Sonia has also just completed a role as a Board member with the Hazelwood Mine Fire inquiry.

Lyndon Hale, Executive Director

Lyndon has been the Medical Director of Melbourne IVF Pty Ltd since 2008. He is also Director of Reproductive Surgery at The Women’s Hospital, and is on the board of the Fertility Society of Australia. Lyndon is highly regarded for his knowledge and proactive approach and brings extensive experience in assisted reproduction treatments to the care of his patients.

Career Opportunities

Interested in joining our team? Read about our current opportunities for fertility specialists.
Find out more...

© Virtus Group 2015